Kwanzaa: Kujichagulia

The seven candles and principles of Kwanzaa

Today is the second day of Kwanzaa, a seven-day celebration founded by Maulana Ndabezitha Karenga. Kwanzaa is Swahili for “matunda ya kwanza” meaning “first fruit.” Founded in 1966 after the Watts riots to help bring Black Americans together to celebrate together history, values, family, community, and culture. We will be counting down to Black History Media’s launching by celebrating the seven days of Kwanzaa.

Mishumaa Saba (the seven candles), each of the seven candles represents seven principles (Nguzo Saba) of Kwanzaa. The Black candle represents the people. The red candles represent the struggle and the green candles represent the future and the hope that comes from their struggle.

  1. Umoja (Unity [Black Candle])
  2. Kujichagulia (Self-Determination [Red Candle])
  3. Ujima (Collective work and responsibility [Red Candle])
  4. Ujamaa (Cooperative Economics [Red Candle])
  5. Nia (Purpose [Green Candle])
  6. Kuumba (Creativity [Green Candle])
  7. Imani (Faith [Green Candle])

Today’s principle is Kujichagulia (Self-Determination), meaning “To define ourselves, name ourselves, create for ourselves and speak ourselves.”

Miles J. Edwards

Born with a little California love and raised with a little SouthernPlayalistiCadillacMuzik

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Check Also
Back to top button